When you create a Google Data Studio report from scratch or using the Shape report template, you will automatically be granted full permissions to edit/share the Data Studio report with anyone. You may choose to share the report with colleagues or clients.

Sharing a report with a client can be a great way to provide your clients with an easy-to-access performance dashboard (instead of sending out manual reports weekly, monthly, etc.).

Sharing a Report - View Only

You may want to share a report with clients in “View Only” mode to prevent them from editing the format or data in a report.

To share a report with a client in “view only” mode:

  • Navigate to the “Share the Report” icon (person with + sign) in the upper right-hand corner of your screen, or to “Share” menu item under “File” in the top navigation. 
  • Add the email of the person you wish to invite in the “People” field
  • Set the person’s permissions to “can view”
  • Add a note (optional) and hit “Send.”

NOTE: Sharing a report with a client in “View Only” will allow them to see the most recently updated version of the report. Your clients will not be able to refresh the data themselves unless they have edit access.

 

Sharing a Report - With Edit Permissions

You can give your clients access to edit your Google Data Studio reports if you’re comfortable doing so.

To share a report with a client with edit permissions:

  • Navigate to the “Share the Report” icon (person with + sign) in the upper right-hand corner of your screen, or to “Share” menu item under “File” in the top navigation. 
  • Add the email of the person you wish to invite in the “People” field
  • Set the person’s permissions to “can edit”
  • Add a note (optional) and hit “Send.”

 

NOTE: You can also use “Get Shareable Link” to quickly share the report with others. You’ll want to set your Link Sharing permissions to “On - Anyone With the Link” and select a “Can Edit” access level. This will give anyone with the link permission to edit the shared report.

We recommend against this option though as it gives clients the ability to share the link with other people who may not know how to update the data studio report.